2018 Markus Cook Award – Call for nominations

It’s time to call for nominations for this year’s Markus Cook Award for services to the international messenger community.

This will be the 21st year that the award is presented. It was started by Buffalo Bill in 1998, to remember Markus and to draw attention to messengers whose work benefits all of us. It was first awarded during the 1998 Cycle Messenger World Championships in Washington DC.

From the IFBMA’s Markus Cook Award page:

“The MCA for services to the International Messenger Community is not a prize for winning a race. At the time the Award was conceived, CMWC was beginning to be more about the racing than the happening. I [ Buffalo Bill] wanted to re-establish the spirit of the championships, to restate the reason that we all come to this event every year.

The MCA is a reflection of the axiom that everyone who comes to a CMWC is a winner, whether they race or not.

Markus himself was very much in love with the CMWC, and in many ways he was the unlikeliest bike racer imaginable. He was several other things, of course. Editor of Mercury Rising messenger zine, unofficial spokesperson of the SFBMA, leader of L Sid, and a friend to all. The enthusiasm of Markus brought CMWC and the international messenger community toSan Francisco, and it saddens many people to this day that he did not live to see it.

This award is for people that inspire and empower the wider messenger community, that put all of us before themselves.”

There is no limit to the number of nominees and anyone can nominate someone. The messenger community is fortunate to have many people who are willing to devote time and effort to improve the lot of others. The difficult part is narrowing the list down to just one recipient every year.


So send your nominations to the messenger list, or visit the Markus Cook Award page on facebook or by email to  messville@gmail.com. Please provide as much information about your nominee as possible as we would like to showcase profiles of many of the nominees.

The basic but not so strict criteria are:

  – it must be mainly for activities that have taken place in the last 12 months; although you can also draw attention to their prior work.

 – they don’t have to be a working messenger; they can be a former messenger

The decision will be taken by a committee of former recipients.

Past recipients of the Markus Cook Award:

2017 – Founders and Members of The *BMA (StarBMA)

2016 – IWGB – Courier and Logistics Branch

2015 – Stefan “Porno Steve” Frohlich

2014 – Jérôme “Strom” Thiriet, Basel, Switzerland

2013 – Leah Hollinsworth, Toronto, Canada

2012 – Shawn “Bega” Blumenfeld, Washington, DC, USA

2011 – Stephanie ‘Papillon’ Bartczak, London, England

2010 – Nadir Olivet, Toronto, Canada

2009 – Luk Keller, Zurich, Switzerland

2008 – Martin Larsen, Copenhagen Denmark

2007 – Andy Zalan, Washington DC, USA

2006 – Amy and Kevin “Squid” Bolger, New York City, NY, USA

2005 – Jean Andre Vallery, Sarasota, Florida, USA

2004 – “Buffalo” Bill Chidley, London, England

2003 – Wayne Scott, Toronto, Canada

2002 – Derek Chadbourne, Toronto, Canada

2001 – Joel “Magpie” Metz, San Francisco, CA, USA

2000 – John Kenda and the Philadelphia BMA, Boston/Philadelphia USA

1999 – Rebecca “Lambchop” Reilly, DC/NYC/SF etc. USA

1998 – Joe Hendry, Toronto, Canada

More on Markus:

Markus Cook Award on facebook

Markus Cook at the Messenger Memorial

Mercury Falling from SF Weekly (

Letter replies to Mercury Falling

Markus Cook and L. Sid page on Tapewrecks

Video clip of Markus:

(Apologies for the video quality)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s